Asus KGPE-D16 Cooling Sytem

Complete water cooling systems (for example: Exos-2.5, PC5-1336, etc.)...
jpass022
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt

Asus KGPE-D16 Cooling Sytem

Postby jpass022 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:01 pm

Attached is a diagram that is a rough draft of a cooling system for my Asus KGPE-D16 Motherboard. Looking for comments and ideas. This is my first build with Koolance water cooling.

Water Cooling System.jpg
Asus KGPE-D16 Cooling System Diagram
(241.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker

Re: Asus KGPE-D16 Cooling Sytem

Postby Izerous » Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:59 pm

Don't do so many parallel paths, because they are not identical your flow rates will be all over the place and your temperatures will suffer on some components.

You essentially have 7 parallel paths... your flow rate on each path will not be (total flow / 7). More fluid will flow through the northbridge block than anything else in the grouping because it is the lowest resistance which means it will be cooled better than any other component. Does your northbridge really needs to be cooled better than the CPUs/GPUs?
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

jpass022
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt

Postby jpass022 » Wed Nov 30, 2011 4:51 pm

If needed, I was going to use ball valves to fine tune flow through each branch. Looked at stepper motor controlled ball valves also, but not sure if I need dynamic control. I think that once I get the flow distribution correct, then I won't need to alter it. Once I get the flow figured out with ball valves, I could determine the reduced cross section of the ball valves, then get rid of the ball valves and move the restriction to the nozzle with a custom jet. And yes, you are right, the Northbridge shouldn't need as much flow as the other components.

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker

Postby Izerous » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:18 pm