Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Fittings, nozzles, quick-disconnects, speed controllers, power supplies, & everything else...
Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1185
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Postby Izerous » Thu Feb 09, 2012 9:09 am

Just a couple weeks ago pulled the PSU-1200 out of my main computer. It definitely holds the crown for the longest I have ever used a single power supply without it ever failing or needing a bigger unit. I think it is around 5 years old now or something like that and still running. The only reason I replaced it at this point is after so much usage not sure how much time is left on the pump. It had no problem powering anything I ever threw at it.

I'm feeling at this point it might be worth it to take it apart and attempt a rebuild even with the cost of the internal fluid if I can even find a replacement pump so it can reliably be used in other computers.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Ace0751
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:12 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Re: Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Postby Ace0751 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:30 am

My power supply is right up their of course its not the liquid cooled one from koolance but it never gave me any problems. its the thermaltake toughpower 1000w PSU and I am happy with this purchase lol.
GIGABYTE X58-UD7 Mobo Rev. 2
Intel i7 950 3.25Ghz
Corsair DOMINATOR GT 12GB 2000mhz DDR3
MSI Radeon 290X
Danger Den Customized Case

Mik
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Re: Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Postby Mik » Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:27 am

You've had better luck than me. I bought the mark 1 which was replaced under a recall. The replacement unit failed just inside warranty (not all my luck was bad!) so I'm on my 3rd since 2008. That said, i wish Koolance would bring it back. With multi GPU systems peaking at 200- 250W per card being common the extra power of the 1300/ 1700W unit is very welcome. For my next system I plan to stack 2 PSU1000's and split the load. It would be very good if I could control them both off the "On" switch but I don't know if that's possible.

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1185
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Postby Izerous » Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:10 pm

There are pieces specifically for that purpose, available from bitspower, ModRight and a few other companies. You just need to make sure you get compatible versions as PSU specs have changed over time and it has caused some people grief especially with the bitspower adapter.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Mik
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Posts: 375
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 2:05 am
Location: Manila, Philippines

Re: Recently swapped out PSU-1200 but it is still kicking

Postby Mik » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:50 pm

Thanks for the advice Izerous, I'll do some research


Return to “Fittings, Nozzles, Quick-Disconnects, Misc.”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest