Filling a cooling system easily - without a RFS-500.

Fittings, nozzles, quick-disconnects, speed controllers, power supplies, & everything else...
AMWild
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt

Filling a cooling system easily - without a RFS-500.

Postby AMWild » Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:01 pm

I recently built a water cooling system in a new PC... and then spent an hour or more trying to fill it through the RP-452X2's front fill port using a length of tube ending in a funnel.

I saw the RFS-500 flush and fill station in Koolance's catalogue, and it looks fantastic, but as I'm not a professional system builder, I can hardly justify that sort of expense for something that I'll only use a few times...

However, I came up with a solution that's almost as good, and instead of costing $1,262.27 AUD plus shipping, cost me... $13.83 AUD.

I simply purchased a 5 litre pressure sprayer from my local hardware shop for $9.90 AUD, removed the hose from the wand handle and cut off about 15cm of the 1/4" hose, then removed the sprayer tip from the wand pipe and pushed about 5cm of the 1/4" OD wand into one end of the 15cm length of hose. I reattached the hose to the wand handle, and inserted a 1/4" barb (NZL-V06B) ($3.93 AUD) that I scavenged from my drain port (so it may not even count as an additional cost) into the other end of the short hose section, and screwed that into the fill port.

After a few quick pumps I pressed the trigger - and in less than five minutes, the entire loop was filled with about 3l of flushing water. No mess, no putting my hand over the end of the funnel and pushing to bounce the air out and the fluid in, no blowing into the tube with my mouth...