advice needed, 3 rad, 2 pump, loop setup ...

Do-it-yourself and user modifications...
old spice
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:38 am

advice needed, 3 rad, 2 pump, loop setup ...

Postby old spice » Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:38 am

So i decided to mod my cool master cosmo s case for water cooling...

Using 3 radiators, one 1x120 and two 3x120 ...

Im not sure if i should run a single or dual pump loop ...

right now im thinking of running a single 450 pump and just loop everything in series,
water blocks on: CPU, 3 GPUs, 6 ram, 2 HDDs

i will be doing some extensive gaming and overclocking on this machine ...
All Thoughs and opinions are welcomed ...

:)

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1185
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada

Re: advice needed, 3 rad, 2 pump, loop setup ...

Postby Izerous » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:40 am

You will find lots of posts about opinions on ram coolers so I will skip that, same with HDD cooler.

Your exploring cooling your Ram and HDD's but not your chipsets?

2x450's in the new res pump thing would be ideal for you if you were to go with everything and really want to go overboard (assuming you have 2 drive bays to spare)
loop1: GPU's -> 3x120 rad -> return
loop2: CPU -> 120 rad -> MB? -> Ram -> HDD's -> 3x120 return

or something like that. There are other options and lots of different things you could do depending on space etc. Your provided details were minimal as to what the video cards are etc so these are only rough comments.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Stingray
Water Balloon Grenadier
Water Balloon Grenadier
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 1:57 pm

Re: advice needed, 3 rad, 2 pump, loop setup ...

Postby Stingray » Thu Nov 04, 2010 6:46 pm

Skip the ram and HD cooling, you just don't need to OC ram, you get minimal benefits, especially DDR3 RAM
You could hook up one cpu and one gpu on one 3x120 rad and the other two gpu's on with the other 3x120 and OC to your hearts content. one 450 pump can handle this without issue.

old spice
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:38 am

Re: advice needed, 3 rad, 2 pump, loop setup ...

Postby old spice » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:06 am

oops i forgot to list the chipset, but it will be cooled as well ..

Also i got tons of space probally about 8 drive bays to spare ...

heres a list of my bulid

- mobo - asus rampage III -
- gpu - SAPPHIRE 100290SR Radeon HD 5870
- cpu - i7 950 , 3.06ghz
- ddr3 - kingston 4gbs
- psu - kingwin mach 1, 1220w

currently im spray painting my case and making it look more asethetically pleasing ... lol ...


Return to “DIY and Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest