Page 1 of 1

nvidia and ati in the same box

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 1:02 am
by Fluxc0re
Just for the fun of it i stuffed a ATI and a nvivia video card on the same board and it worked . I am now folding with both cards , and both cores At the same time . Dammm now i got to find a cheap quad board and cpu and see what i can do with that.

Re: nvidia and ati in the same box

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 12:29 pm
by Xfiles
What I know about ATI/AMD + Nvidia on the same board is that it can work but it needs a lucis hydra chip for it to work.

Only a few motherboards have that chip so you might want to check out of the board your useing has it.

Re: nvidia and ati in the same box

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 1:31 pm
by Izerous
Using them together ie lucid chip the performance gain is not worth it. Far better results using native cf or sli. However it sounds like your threading them off separately from each other. I have spare motherboards laying around but the only one not in use that has more than 2 slots I do have plans for.

Re: nvidia and ati in the same box

Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2012 7:10 pm
by Fluxc0re
Yes , BOINC lets me use every processor individually . If i join a project that uses a GPU enabled project i can tell it to use just the GPU
and no CPU .In win7 64 home . There not SLI or Cross-fired , just plugged in to the board .
So i can have 1 project on the cores in the CPU and one on the ATI and one on the NVIDIA . I really dident know it could be done but
I tried it and it is running for 3 days now no problem.