How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Pumps and reservoirs
ysandler
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby ysandler » Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:39 am

My loop setup is:
CPU Block - Koolance CPU-380i
GPU Block - Two of HEATKILLER® GPU-X³ GTX 780-TITAN "Hole Edition"
Radiator - HX-CU1020VS (Triple, 20 FPI), HX-CU1320V (Quad, 30 FPI), Alphacool NexXxoS Monsta 480 (Quad)
Reservoir - Koolance BDY-TK200
Tubing - PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 1/2in.ID x 3/4in.OD Tubing- Crystal Clear (~10ft)
Coolant - Mayhems Pastel
Chassis - Corsair 900D
Controller - Lamptron CW611

I want to buy PMP-500 pump(s), is 1 pump enough or i need 2 ?

Thank you

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1179
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby Izerous » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:43 am

One lone pmp-500 is sufficient if on a budget but I'll note 2 things.

1: Redundancy is always nice to have with 2 pumps in series (not parallel) at least if one pump dies you still have circulation.
2: Not that I have played with one but the PMP-500 is supposedly louder than either the PMP-400 or the PMP-450. If noise levels are super important to you you may want to change to one of those instead.

The above to reasons are why I went with Dual PMP-450's that are mounted through rubber vibration dampeners to make sure things were as quiet as possible. I don't even use speakers most of the time, I'll usually use my headphones sitting on my desk as speakers and I have had jet engine sounds from my computer in the past I prefer the near silence of my current build.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

User avatar
Fluxc0re
Water Balloon Grenadier
Water Balloon Grenadier
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:34 am
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Contact:

Re: How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby Fluxc0re » Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:47 pm

I would say 1 pump would do it but the only thing I wouldn't like about 1 pump is that you
would have to run it at full pressure/speed to get max flow. That is not a good idea .
If you used 2 pumps you could put them in different parts of the loop and run them
at a lower pressure/speed and still keep your flow up with less pressure . Way safer .
But i really wouldn't use that pastel stuff in a nice setup like that .
Please don't use that coolant in your system . Please.
It makes me crazed to think you are going to use that stuff in a nice rig like that .

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/sho ... ot-Problem
i7950,EX21050,INSFM17N,SENAP008BP,CTRCD12,CPU360,GTX570,GTX560,6x1Gig,AX860i,
ThermaltakeMax2533,EVGAClassified141GTE770,FilterandRez.3.7LpmDCN "Einstein@home"
i7-920,RP-1005,ATI5770,12 Gigs of Kingston,Rad.Swifteck MCR-320.BF3 Box

ysandler
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 9:22 am
Contact:

Re: How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby ysandler » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:48 am

Thank you very much for the reply.
My build will be changed a bit, thinking about 1 450s, maybe 2.
About the coolant, that person used tygon tubing with plasticizer .... i am going to use tubing that was tested with this coolant.
Will continue my research about the number of pumps needed and will update here on the final setup and performance.

davidm71
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2015 11:33 am
Contact:

Re: How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby davidm71 » Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:08 am

So the PMP-500 is a bad product considering the noise?

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1179
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: How many pumps (PMP-500) do i need ?

Postby Izerous » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:58 am

It's ratings don't make it an annoyingly loud pump, just louder than a 450/450s would be and rubber mounting it to reduce the vibration noise would probably go a long ways.

Now if it was as loud as the TK-123 fans I had experimented with (64dba in free air let alone mounted to a radiator) then I'd call it a bad pump.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram


Return to “Pumps & Reservoirs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest