Can you use a radiator internally?

Heat exchangers, fans...
Thaidog
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:33 pm
Contact:

Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Thaidog » Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:23 pm

I have a Lian-Li PC-A08 case that has a big 120mm fan in the front. I was thinking I could install a 120mm radiator on that fan and use the air being pushed in to cool it. Is this a practical way to do this?

User avatar
omegastitch
Garden Hose Sharpshooter
Garden Hose Sharpshooter
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:08 am
Location: Tooele, UT
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby omegastitch » Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:32 pm

I do believe there a few cases that do just that in the Case Gallery topic. but keep in mind the thickness of the radiator and where you will put it in your case. You may or may not have enough space in the front without moving the HDD cage.
Last edited by omegastitch on Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
omegastitch

If ignorance is bliss, please let me die unhappy.

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1179
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Izerous » Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:10 am

1x120 rads are a great addition to a loop. and you will find due to their small size they get mounted into odd places.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Thaidog
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Thaidog » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:03 pm

omegastitch wrote:I do believe there a few cases that do just that in the Case Gallery topic. but keep in mind the thickness of the radiator and where you will put it in your case. You may or may not have enough space in the front without moving the HDD cage.


That''s no problem - I had to move the hdd cage just to fit my geforce 285 gtx!

Thaidog
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Thaidog » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:29 pm

Izerous wrote:1x120 rads are a great addition to a loop. and you will find due to their small size they get mounted into odd places.


A great addition but are they suitable to cool an entire loop by themselves like that?

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1179
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Izerous » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:52 pm

Without goign into much detail, in general.

With a single component yes.
With 2 components maybe depending on the components.
More than 2 items unless it is HDD's and Ram most unlikely.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Thaidog
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Thaidog » Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:11 pm

Izerous wrote:Without goign into much detail, in general.

With a single component yes.
With 2 components maybe depending on the components.
More than 2 items unless it is HDD's and Ram most unlikely.


How about two gtx 285s + northbridge & southbridge?

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1179
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Izerous » Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:07 pm

2x gtx 285's no.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Thaidog
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby Thaidog » Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:39 pm

Izerous wrote:2x gtx 285's no.


What about 1 gtx 285 and NB + SB?

User avatar
omegastitch
Garden Hose Sharpshooter
Garden Hose Sharpshooter
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 11:08 am
Location: Tooele, UT
Contact:

Re: Can you use a radiator internally?

Postby omegastitch » Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:33 pm

Thaidog wrote:
Izerous wrote:2x gtx 285's no.


What about 1 gtx 285 and NB + SB?


I think that may be the most you could get, but Izerous would know better than I.
omegastitch

If ignorance is bliss, please let me die unhappy.


Return to “Radiators & Fans”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest