380i mounting torque

CPU water cooling blocks...
maximiza
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 6:09 pm
Contact:

380i mounting torque

Postby maximiza » Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:06 am

hi, i have a 380i block inbound, i am double checking how tight do you make the mounting thumb screws? I have an asus rampage 4 extreme, the intel spec was 4-5 pounds of torque for the 2011 socket is that about right?

Izerous
Rain Maker
Rain Maker
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:34 am
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Contact:

Re: 380i mounting torque

Postby Izerous » Mon Dec 09, 2013 5:35 pm

I have never seen anyone use a torque wrench for something like this, especially since they are thumb screws with springs underneath. Tightening without bottoming out the springs and I'd be surprised if you had issues.
Corsair 800D
2xPMP-450S > Amd FX8370 > Asus CH4-EX > AMD 6990 > AMD 6990 > 2x1080 rads > return
32GB Ram

Blackbird
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:03 am
Contact:

Re: 380i mounting torque

Postby Blackbird » Tue Dec 24, 2013 12:44 pm

I just mounted 380I, and it seems like i did bottom out the springs because suddenly i couldn't tighten the thumb screws more. But i used very little force, how is it possible that such small force could cause any problems? It's impossible to know how hard you should tighten them.
What should i do now? Is my motherboard, CPU block, and/or CPU destroyed?

I'm a sad guy now.

JuanPabloCuervo
Water Shotty Skirmisher
Water Shotty Skirmisher
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: 380i mounting torque

Postby JuanPabloCuervo » Tue Aug 25, 2015 2:41 pm

With my CPU-350 I tight as much as possible without damage, and then I loosen the screws CCW a few turns, 5 turns equal each screw "or more".
If it's too tight the pin sockets on the board won't make good contact with the CPU, and computer will not boot, also board will bent, video card fan will spin at 100% indicating something is wrong.
If it's too loose will not cool as good as it should.

All depends on the thermal paste your are using...
Ic diamond it's too solid, needs a lot of pressure.
Antec formula 6 is smooth.
Antec Formula 7 it's on it's way here.
Ocz freeze becomes too dry and crackles with time.

Then I make sure Core temps are Ok with HWMonitor, as equal & low as possible.
If waterblock is not symmetric, two or more cores will be very different in temperature.
1° or 2°Celsius difference in one of the cores is acceptable.


Return to “Water Blocks - CPU”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests