Radiator in series?

Heat exchangers, fans...
ReaperXero
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:18 am
Contact:

Radiator in series?

Postby ReaperXero » Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:22 am

Trying to deal with size bays in the coolermaster cosmos 2, can I run 2 radiators in series? I have a 3 120 radiator in the top, still running a bit warm so thinking about adding an additional 2 120 radiator in series in a lower bay. Would this work?

Ace0751
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Fire Hydrant Gunner
Posts: 452
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 8:12 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact:

Re: Radiator in series?

Postby Ace0751 » Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:21 am

It would work but might have to add a pump and controller into the series just to keep a steady flow. If the radiator is producing some heat, try taking it out and blowing it out with a air can that might help. Do those HDD bays come out, if so then that would be a good place to put the second rad if not it looks very difficult to add another rad since their is not a lot of room. But try cleaning out the radiator first to see if that improves if not then add the second rad. What are you cooling to have the rad run warm?
GIGABYTE X58-UD7 Mobo Rev. 2
Intel i7 950 3.25Ghz
Corsair DOMINATOR GT 12GB 2000mhz DDR3
MSI Radeon 290X
Danger Den Customized Case

ReaperXero
Water Pistol Grunt
Water Pistol Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 2:18 am
Contact:

Re: Radiator in series?

Postby ReaperXero » Thu Feb 02, 2012 7:33 pm

I'm currently using the RP-1200. yeah I have the room for a 2 X120 Rad for the bottom, it has a designed compartment for that.

Current Sytem

AMD FX 3.6 Ghz Zambizi 8 core
3 X SLI GTX 580
3 24 Inch Acer in Nvid Surround
16 GB Dominators
Asus Crosshair V

I have the 3 Vid cards, the memory and CPU all water cooled. I was going to water cool the NB/SB however running into enough now before adding more to it. I'm trying to contain the entire system internal. I've overclocked it to 4.2 and it does fine until I play a game for more then 15 mins. I noticed the heat wasn't disapating the way I would like it.

User avatar
Fluxc0re
Water Balloon Grenadier
Water Balloon Grenadier
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:34 am
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Contact:

Re: Radiator in series?

Postby Fluxc0re » Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:31 am

are you sure that your top rad is not airlocked? If there is a lot of air in the rad water can not get in .
Do not expect your pump to push the air out of your rad . You need to fill it by putting it lower than your REZ and pump.Then it can go over your pump.As long as it is running it shouldent refill with air .the problem comes when you shut it off . Watch your tubeing when you shut it ,the pump , down . I was guessing that your tube is clear . If you see the Rad draining back to your rez , or if you see air going up to your rad and your rez refilling then you probably have a air problem .
i7950,EX21050,INSFM17N,SENAP008BP,CTRCD12,CPU360,GTX570,GTX560,6x1Gig,AX860i,
ThermaltakeMax2533,EVGAClassified141GTE770,FilterandRez.3.7LpmDCN "Einstein@home"
i7-920,RP-1005,ATI5770,12 Gigs of Kingston,Rad.Swifteck MCR-320.BF3 Box


Return to “Radiators & Fans”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests